Sesame Street’s Daytime Emmy Nominations – 2014

Every year I’m always eager to see how many Daytime Emmy nominations Sesame Street garners–and every year it’s in the double digits, which blows me away. This year is no different, as Sesame Street has received 15 nominations for Season 44. Below is the list of all 15 nominations for Sesame Street:

  • Outstanding Pre-School Children’s Series
    • Sesame Street
  • Outstanding New Approaches – Enhancement to a Daytime Program or Series
    • Sesame Street
    • Sesame Street: Little Children, Big Challenges: Incarceration
  • Outstanding Performer in a Children’s Series
    • Leslie Carrara-Rudolph (as Sigrid, Carrie, Flantine, Velvet and Old Lady)
    • David Rudman (as Baby Bear and Cookie Monster)
    • Joey Mazzarino (as Stinky, Murray, and Davy Jones)
  • Outstanding Writing in a Children’s Series
    • Sesame Street (Head Writer: Joey Mazzarino; Writers: Molly Boylan, Annie Evans, Christine Ferraro, Emily Kingsley, Luis Santeiro, Ed Valentine, Belinda Ward, John Weidman)
  • Outstanding Directing in a Children’s Series
    • Sesame Street (Kevin Clash, Ken Diego, Joseph Mazzarino, Scott Preston, Lisa Simon, Matt Vogel, Nadine Zylstra)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Lighting Direction
    • Sesame Street (Dan Kelley, Lighting Designer)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Multiple Camera Editing
    • Sesame Street (Tom James, Supervising Editor; Jesse Averna and John Tierney, Editors)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Sound Mixing – Live Action
    • Sesame Street (Chris Prinzivalli, Sound Mixer; Michael Barrett and Michael Croiter, Re-Recording Mixers; Dick Maitland, SFX Mixer)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Sound Editing – Live Action
    • Sesame Street (Michael Barrett and Chris Prinzivalli, Supervising Sound Editors; Michael Croiter, Supervising Music Editor; Jorge Muelle, Music Editor; Chris Sassano, Sound Editor; Dick Maitland, Sound Effects Editor)
  • Outstanding Original Song
    • “ABCs of Moving” (Chris Jackson, Composer; Joey Mazzarino, Lyrics)
    • “Rhymes with Mando” (Lin-Manuel Maranda, Composer; Luis Santeiro, Lyrics)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Costume Design/Styling
    • Sesame Street (Costume Designers/Muppets: Erin Slattery Black, Elizabeth Hara, Michelle Hickey, John Douglas James, Rollie Krewson, Lara Mclean, Colette Nickola, Anny Ozar, Connie Peterson, Jane Pien, Sierra Schoening, Polly Smith, Jason Weber; Costume Designers: Brian Hemesath, Jared Leese)
As you’ll no doubt note, Leslie Carrara-Rudolph is not nominated for Abby Cadabby. The Emmy nominations are chosen based on episode submitted, and apparently Abby was not in the episode that Leslie is nominated for. How amazing is it that she is still nominated without even needing Abby?

We at The Muppet Mindset would like to offer our huge, heartfelt congratulations to everyone nominated for Sesame Street. Special congratulations go out to our friends Leslie Carrara-Rudolph, David Rudman, Joey Mazzarino, and Matt Vogel on their extremely well-deserved nominations.

The 41st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards winners will be announced on June 22nd.

The Muppet Mindset by Ryan Dosier,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s