Sesame Street at New York Comic Con 2014

Spencer Cohen – This year at New York Comic Con, a special Sesame Street panel was held, entitled “Sesame Street & Pop Culture: 45 Years of Spoofs on the ‘Street.’” I was lucky enough to attend this exciting panel, which featured a screening of the new episode “Numeric Con” from Season 45, followed by a panel discussion with executive producer Carol-Lynn Parente, the Muppets, and their respective performers. There was Eric Jacobson with Grover, Leslie Carrara-Rudolph with Abby Cadabby, and Joey Mazzarino with Murray Monster!

nycc1

For me, my personal favorite part of the panel was afterwards, when the Sesame Street Muppets and their performers stayed to take pictures and sign autographs with their fans. I was first lucky enough to get my picture taken with the lovable furry monster himself, Grover!

After asking Grover if I could have my picture taken with him, I held my camera up, and counted to three. The picture was then taken, and Grover then looked at me and said, “You are a very good counter.” This was a moment that I will truly never forget for the rest of my life!

nycc2

Next, I got my picture taken with Murray, which was also very exciting!

nycc3

If you ever get the chance to attend New York Comic Con, I highly recommend you go, because you’ll have an amazing time, especially if you’re a Muppet fan. I truly had a fantastic experience, and hope to attend New York Comic Con again in the future! Special thanks to the Sesame Street puppeteers for making this such a memorable experience!

Watch select clips from the Sesame Street Comic Con panel and read more about the exciting Muppet stuff at Comic Con via our friends at ToughPigs.com!

The Muppet Mindset by Ryan Dosier, muppetmindset@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

