The Muppet Mindset Turns 7

Ryan and Kermit

Ryan Dosier – I can’t believe The Muppet Mindset has been going strong for a whopping seven years. The amount of content and fun that has been produced in that time is truly staggering to me. It has been especially great watching the site continue to expand its reach from the outside looking in. The coverage of The Muppets on ABC this past year was especially stellar, with excellent reviews and impressive interviews. I can’t thank Jarrod enough for taking over the job. It’s a great job, but I know that it can be grueling and frustrating at times, and he has always fought through that and continued to produce spectacular content on a regular basis. Thanks to all the fans who have contributed, connected, and kept the site going not just this year, but every year since it began. It’s a joy to watch it keep going, and going, and going. Like the Energizer Bunny. Off-brand, but I ran out of nice/clever things to say. Anyway, Happy Birthday The Muppet Mindset!

cookie 1

Jarrod Fairclough – Who let Ryan back in?  I changed the locks and everything.  I’m looking at you, British Correspondent…

Yes folks, today The Muppet Mindset celebrates its 7th birthday, with over 2100 articles to its name, 4 of them quite good.  The last year has seen a lot happen in the Muppet world and in Muppet fandom.  We got 16 great episodes of a new Muppet series, we await the recently announced Disney World attractions, and we’ve been given a fantastic series of toys from Diamond Select.

jarrod kermitFor me the past year has been one of dreams coming true. I got to spend 2 days on the set of The Muppets meeting everybody (including a few characters), and I was able to interview Cookie Monster, which is an event that still doesn’t seem real to me.
I feel like the reviews of the show massively improved my writing, and I think we’ve struck a nice balance here with news, in depth articles, and ridiculous fun things.  It’s taken me 18 months of running the Mindset, but I think we’re in a good place moving forward, and I think the recent design shift has been a great update.

Now to thank a few people who’ve made the last year so great.
Mitchell, Kyle and John – Thanks fellas for helping me run the joint. You all get raises!
Kieran Moore – Thanks for making my job so much easier with quality content!
Michael Wermuth, Abigail Maughan et al – And to everyone else who’s supplied content, I’ve always appreciated every single bit of it.
Ryan Roe, Dave Hulteen, James Carroll, Kynan Barker, Smig, Steve Swanson, JD Hansel, Michael Lanzer, and the late great Chase Beecher (we miss you buddy) – Becoming even friendlier with these guys has been one of the best perks of the job, and they’re all amazing people that I’m proud to call friends.

Thanks to the Muppet people!
Steve Whitmire – Who treated me like an old friend the entire time I met him, telling everyone that I was to be in the middle of the action for my entire visit.
Dave Goelz – Who spent 15 minutes giving me an impromptu film class when he could have politely left.
Eric Jacobson – I’ll never forget how regretful Eric looked as he was dragged away in the middle of a conversation with me, and how happy he was to see me 3 days later.  He also offered up a photo with Fozzie when Steve and Kermit weren’t available.
David Rudman – Who so kindly ensured that I got to interview Cookie Monster, and then was hilarious when I did.
Matt Vogel – One of the kindest men in the world, he’s never been anything but sweet to me in person and over the internet.
Mike Quinn – For talking to me constantly as I awkwardly stood in Kermit’s office not sure if I was in the way or not.
Kirk Thatcher – Kirk gave me some advice a year ago that I kind of fobbed off and ignored, but that I’ve since realized was brilliant, and I’ll be forever thankful to him for being so kind to me.
Andrew Spooner – We’re so close to getting this interview done, and it’ll be well worth the wait when we do!
And then people like Alicia Durand, Tracy Gilbert, Yannina Diaz and Tamara Jenkins, all 4 of whom have helped my dreams come to fruition.

And finally to these three:
Joe Hennes – A man who gets what it is to be figurehead of the Muppet fan community, Joe has been a friend, a sounding board and a rock, and I cannot thank him enough for everything he’s done. Shout out to those fine fellas at ToughPigs.com

Peter Linz – If I’ve said it once, I’ll say it again.  Peter Linz is one of the finest men I have ever have the fortune to meet, and I’ll forever be in his debt.  He got me on the set of The Muppets, he got me back again 3 days later, and he’s been nothing but great to me the entire time.  I owe him everything for the things he’s done.

Ryan Dosier – I really like that guy.  He’s one of my closest friends, he’s a great source of advice and inspiration, and he has the comfiest couch I’ve ever slept on.  He’s opened the door for me, and I will never be able to thank him enough.  You’re a good man, Charlie Brown.

Here’s looking forward to another year of Muppetyness!  Who knows what it will bring?  I can’t wait to find out.

seven

 

Leave a Reply

